Michael Horwood

Michael HorwoodMichael Horwood was born in Buffalo, New York, on May 24, 1947. He studied music composition and theory at the State University of New York at Buffalo with Lejaren Hiller, Lukas Foss, and Istvan Anhalt, receiving his Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees (1969, 1971). In 1971, he moved to Canada and from 1972–2003 was a professor of music and humanities at Humber College of Applied Arts and Technology in Toronto. In 2003 he retired from teaching. He and his wife now live in Tucson.

His more than seventy compositions constitute a kaleidoscope of the traditional and the avant-garde. Among his most successful are the orchestral works: Amusement Park Suite (1986), National Park Suite (1991) and Symphony No. 2, Visions of a Wounded Earth (1995). Horwood seems content writing in any genre and, similarly, feels a composer today should be able to adapt and create in a variety of styles.

From all the deliberate variety in Horwood’s music, a few personal traits have emerged. One of these is an acute sense of sonority, the knack of exploiting the unique ranges and timbres of his instrumental forces. This use of instrumental sound is occasionally coupled with an overt sense of theatricality or humor, even in his non-theater works. His primary hobby is visiting amusement parks.
For Horwood's complete biography, please visit his website.

Member Area | Site Map |

PO Box 42764 ~ Tucson, Arizona 85733 ~ (520) 730-3371
© 2017-2018 Civic Orchestra of Tucson, All Rights Reserved